Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to widen the highway adding an additional lane of traffic But last

The main problem of local commuters is the increased commuting time during rush hours. They proposed that an additional lane would solve the problem. This is reasonable if one thinks through the problem. However, opponents note how the nearby Green highway got additional lanes, and eventually, the traffic jams got worse. Here there isn’t a straight correlation, because there aren’t any further information of these traffic jams. The first question that needs answering in my opinion is why did the G H traffic jams got worse. There could be a new factory or something in the area that hired significantly more people, thus more had to commute leading to worse traffic jams.

Another assumption is that a bicycle lane would help the problem. This is assumption is based on a fact that area residents are keen bicyclists. This assumption isn’t backed by surveys or anything, so another question that needs answering is about how representative is this claim.

Addition to this, there may be keen bicyclists in the area on a sunny Saturday afternoon, but commuting is done all year long, even in winter and even in heavy rains. No factual data are in hand whether people would commute in these worse conditions.

The last assumption is about the new bicycle lane would encourage the locals to commute by bikes. This could be false in many cases. There could be many locals who couldn’t afford bikes for example. This is another question whether the non-biker locals would invest in bikes and use them. A survey could convey the required answers for the investing government.