As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take

I would like to express my disagreement with the statement. Humanity has been using tools from the beginning of the world to help its own problems. We went from a simple axe made out of a stick and a stone to the most advanced computers. All because of the human brain, but with the help of the technology of that time. Because of this, I think technology is a tool in our hands while we focus on more advanced problems. Our brain looks one step forward. This way we manage our life very efficiently because we spend less time and energy on a daily basis.

Technology could also give exercise to our brain. A good example is how we studied during a pandemic lockdown recently. Without the internet and computers, we would have been forced to pause our courses for years. But it had some positive outcomes because at my university for example we had videos and virtual lectures which were arguably more effective than books. Moreover, we had courses which required work with computers, and this way we could simultaneously do that with the lecturer.

With the help of the internet, we could exchange informations between greater distances. For example, in Australia, there are students living in remote places who still get an education with online courses.

Another good example in my opinion is the vaccine for the previously mentioned pandemic. It was developed in an unbelievably short time, and it was only possible because of our modern technology. Globally scientists used advanced ways of communication while mathematicians helped to control the infection rate by numerical simulations.

However, I see the reasons why this is a problem currently. Many times I saw people type one plus one in a calculator, without thinking through the problem. Especially now, I think currently we are living through the biggest industrial revolution ever. When I was 4 or 5 years old fingerprint scanners were a thing only in Hollywood movies, just as telephoning through watches was in the imagination of sci-fi writers. Nowadays these are part of our life, and they could be described as 'ordinary'.