Company X has just switched to a 4 day workweek mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursdaybinstead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday Although the policy is new Company X claims that the policy would help to increase p

The author’s questionable assumptions on reducing a workday leading to an increase in profits and commuting time reduction the only way to increase the morale of employees need to be substantiated with further analysis and evidence. These two assumptions can have a drastic impact on the work done by Company X in a week and thus need further evidence. The author also states that the policy is new, which makes the previous two assumptions more flawed.

To begin with, the author’s assumption that a 4-day workweek will cause increased profits has no evidence supporting it. Shutting down offices on Friday will increase work to be done per day. Productivity has a limit. Thus, increasing work hours might lead to low productivity. Leading to less work done per week. In the worst-case scenario, this might lead to deadline extension and also late delivery of products or services. Therefore, shutting down offices on Friday might lead to decreased profits which contrasts the author’s point of view.

Instead of making a sweeping statement based on insufficient data, the author needs to provide evidence that reduction in commuting time will result to increase in employee morale. It might be true that the reduction in commuting time per week might also lead to saving some money per week, which might not increase the morale of employees. Several other factors are responsible for the morale of an employee which the author has not considered. For example, one might argue that the morale of an employee depends upon the work culture or the work environment at the offices, or whether they give employees appropriate wages or sufficient raise in salary than reducing the commuting time per week. These alternatives make us think twice about the author’s assumption that reduced commuting time will lead to an increase in the morale of employees.

Lastly, the author states that the policy is new. While one can rely on a previously implemented policy that led to good results, the assumption that this new policy will work wants evidence. One cannot determine whether a new policy will work until it is implemented, testeded, compared to and verified. A change in policy might also lead to employees censuring the decision as one hardly likes change. Also, if the policy has worked somewhere else and therefore Company X wants to implement it, it is possible that what worked for some other Company Y will work for Company X. Thus, the assumption that a new policy will work is fallacious.

Briefly, this argument is weak because it depends on various assumptions about shutting down offices on Friday will lead to increased profits, reducing commute time will lead to an increase in the morale of the employees and that employees will not censure the policy. The argument is more questionable because it lacks evidence. Also, implementation of this policy might even lead to some implications which can exacerbate the profits and employee morale of Company X’s employees. Thus, in conclusion, the author’s assumptions lack crucial evidence and if the assumptions are fallacious, the implications might lead to an unexpected outcome.