The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The first question that should be answered is whether the limit in the supply of new housing will stop the trend of overdevelopment of the county. For example, it would be possible that, although less people lived there, they tended to exploit more the farmland, leading to the same result as if there was more population. If it is proved true that a decrease in the number of inhabitants is the direct cause for the avoidance of overdevelopment, this policy would probably be successful.

Secondly, was the reason for implementing the measure in Chestnut County the possible overdevelopment? It is possible that limiting environmental factors had affected the decision to apply that policy, and, in this case, prices of houses would not have increased, as people would not be as interested as they would be to develop farmland in that place. In this sense, it is clear that an explanation of the reason for the implementation of that measure in Chestnut County should be given.

Thirdly, were overall prices much lower fifteen years ago than ten years ago? To exemplify the possible influence of an affirmative answer to this question, imagine that an economic crisis took place fifteen years ago, and five years later there was a period of economy improvement. This would mean that prices would have been very low during the last years, and had increased steeply after that. Hence, if this hypothesis is proved true, no determining conclusion can be extracted from the sentences related to these factors.

Finally, has Pine County developed a lot its touristic attractions, or its industry, during the last years? It is plausible that the huge rise in its residential prices are a direct consequence of the economic flourishing of the county. This would mean that, as the conditions that have led to that increase in the prices are different from the ones in Maple County, the same conclusion cannot be reached. Thus, the statement concluded may not be adequate if this hypothesis holds true.