Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In most economy courses, one of the first mottos that are told to students is that the main reason for creating an enterprise, as well as the unique finality of its operation, is to generate economic benefits. However, I find this claim as doubtful and lacking of ethics, as money should be, in my opinion, subdue to social and cultural development.

I am convinced that everyone in this world has the obligation to make it a better place. This also applies to managers of multinational enterprises, whose power in the economy of countries is, nowadays, undeniable. Although laws can restrict their loathing behaviour, that is only justified in terms of generating benefit, in my opinion the only way to completely avoid their measures against social development is to increase the importance of ethics and morality in our education. Adoctrinating people in this way, justice would definitely reign the world.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, in democratic systems, laws are passed by the government, which is voted by people. However, it is undeniable that, for example, propaganda, advertisements and television programmes have a great influence in our thinking. As well as this, it should be mentioned that most private television channels receive funds from wealthy sponsors, whose interest may be to make laws related to taxes and work conditions laxer, so their opinion may be implicit in all these channels. As people are extremely easy to convince, a huge alienation characterizes our society, and this influences people’s vote. To sum up, laws are imposed by democratic governments, but they are elected by people who are influenced by opinions that enterprises which only motivation is to generate more money, and, thus, support political parties that would make laws in their benefit.

On the other hand, the economic development of countries depends hugely on the benefits obtained by companies. In this sense, the instauration of a system with extremely strict laws for enterprises, made in order to reach the well-being of societies, may lead them to start moving their production to other countries. Consequently, the economy of the state would decline. This, in my opinion, is the strongest argument that can be posed to defend that the only finality for enterprises is to generate benefits. In other words, it implies that their service to society is to create employment and permit its economy to flourish.

In conclusion, I am convinced that companies should pose a social compromise, establishing moral principles that lead them to help the society instead of concentrating all their effort into generating benefit. In this sense, laws are not sufficient to guarantee their social and environmental well-doing, as they control mass media, so it is not defendable that they should only respect laws. However, this does not mean that laws should be too strict, because, in this way, they would not generate enough economic benefit for society.