The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The whole argument focuses on restriction of farmland development and its repercussions. Also this argument provides the references given by the proponents and opponents. But when we more scrutinize this argument we came across many other factors which council should account before it predicts the rise in property prices.

The farmland development cannot be directly linked to the prices rise in Maple County. As many factors such as county’s economy, people inclination towards buying new property, industries present, tourism, etc. shall be considered.

These aspects of development also drives the housing prices in the county. When opponents mentioned of Pine County which had restricted development 15 years ago, may have been due to some other reasons. Moreover, we do not have much information about the Pine County, such as geographical location, industrial development in Pine County area, these facets can catalyst the process of inflation in that particular area which can lead to increased housing prices in Pine County.

On the other hand, Proponents mentions the Chestnut County’s decision which did not have an impact on housing prices. However, they did not mention the other reasons which can also be a part of this phenomenon, such as, It is quite possible that the population density of Chestnut County is less. That population is major of immigrants or there is slow or no industrial growth. These factors contribute a lot to housing prices, take an example of Delhi, India here, despite no restriction on the farmland development the housing prices are on consistent rise, which can directly related to the industrial growth in that area.

Although, comparisons seems good, but council prediction is unsound as facts need more clarification