Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

The definition for success vary greatly from person to person, for some it is accumulation of great wealth and for some people it is perfection in their skill. Successful people have put a lot of effort to reach the place as they are today. Success is the product of hard work, persistence, passion, patience, set-backs and in some amount luck. These things are in control of person who aspires to successful. Education institutions such as schools, colleges, universities have a structured way of doing things. And personal success linked to scores they receive in curriculum, however student can have one field of study as a hobby and other as a passion. Educational institutions should not dissuade students in selecting which field of study they should pursue.

The reason educational institutes should not do this is sometimes instead of having a positive effect on students it can backfire and can completely destroy the students career as educational institutes will not want this, students should persuade to learn their field of interest. Interest is the main driver in achieving the success. Which can anything from short-term goal setting or long-term. We can find many success stories which are not created by dissuading someone to not study field where he does not score well, but instead letting students do, they interested in. Dissuading someone to not study the certain field of study can have lower the moral of students. Moreover, in extreme cases students can decide to drop out from school, college.

Talking about the successful students we can look at the enormous amount of stories in the developing countries where there is a student being responsible for earning money for family pursue education in the field of study they want and not only become successful but become an inspiration to others. Take an example of great sportsman in indian history Sachin Tendulkar, instead of being not so good in academics he triumph the field of sports, particularly cricket.

We can find many such examples in our society.

However, educational institutions can offer consultations to students who are willing to change the field of study. So that, they become a responsible, self-motivated professional who sets up good ethics and inspiration for others.