The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The data from the survey compares the frequency of homework which is given to students of Sanlee and Marlee. It tells that the students of Sanlee are given daily homework whereas students of Marlee are given homework two or three times a week only and also tells that because of fewer assignments given they will earn better grades and are less likely to repeat year. The survey leads to conclusion that if students are assigned homework only twice in a week they will earn better grades and will not fail. Though this conclusion might appear to be convincing , it is full of logical flaws and palpable assumptions which need to be taken into account in order to make this argument convincing.

This argument has been taken from data of a survey of Math and Science school teachers but there is no evidence given of the veracity and validity of this data. There is no evidence of who conducted this survey and most importantly when was this survey done. It might be possible that this survey was done many years back and now teachers and students in these districts have changed. It is possible that those people who were there in survey have migrated to other places and new population is there. The survey should also tell about how many people were considered while taking this survey. It is possible only small population of teachers were included from both the districts. Then there is no evidence about how many student grades were

considered. It is possible that the teachers in Marley district told the grades of most brilliant and hardworking students whereas the teachers in Sanlee told about the grades of the average students and not the brilliant ones. It is also given that the only math and science teachers were considered but in order to pass and get better grades all the subjects have to be considered . There is no proof given that these teachers told about the overall grade of the student or only the grade in math and science subjects.

The survey has linked the frequency of homework to getting better grades in exams. There may be other reasons for getting good grades. It is possible that the Sanlee students did not study at all and were more involved in playing. It is also possible that teaching is not good in Sanlee as compared to Marley so the students get better grades there at that time. It is possible that now the education system is better in Marley as compared to Sanlee. The students are more brilliant and hardworking there so they get better grades. There can be many reasons for getting better grades and passing.

There is also no evidence given of how many schools were included in the survey. It is possible that this survey included a small ranking school in Sanlee with few students and few teachers where education is not so developed and it included high ranking school in Marley with more number of teacher and more students. There is nothing mentioned about the topics covered in math and science and also what was the highest scores considered, whether it was mid term exam or final exam . It is possible because it was mid term exam only students in Sanlee din't consider it seriously . Where is the proof their curriculum is same and what topics were there. It is possible that the question in examination in Sanlee were difficult and in Marlee were simple to solve. There is nothing mentioned about the length of time taken to solve the daily homework. If time to complete the homework is less then the students have whole day to do their individual assignments. It is also possible that now the quality of assignments in Marlee schools are not so good and therefore they have to work more to get better grades and pass.

Therefore, all these data should be taken into account in order to make the argument convincing and logical. The students will earn better grade only if they concentrate and work hard, not that they are given fewer assignments . The data should provide more evidence in order to be valid.