The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

High school math and science teachers are willing to impose less frequent homework depending on a survey result in the district of Sanlee and Marlee. They have found the evidence that students who are assigned with two or three homework per week, have better results and less repeat as got more time to work on individual assignment than the students who are assigned with daily homework. While it is possible that the author's contention is true and therefore teachers should assign less homeworks ; His or her argument as it stands now, rests on three unstated assumptions that weaken the arguments persuasiveness.

Firstly, the author assumes that the quality of the students and the teachers from the district of Sanlee and Marlee are similar and comparable. For instance, it can be a case that students from the district of Sanlee's are weaker in math and science as well as the teachers are not qualified enough. That can be a reason for failure of students and repeating in the same classes as well as lower grade. And what if Marlee's students are more stronger in math and science for which they are able to finish their homework and their qualified teacher may help them doing the homework more efficiently. That's why the result may not only depending on the frequency of the homework, rather than students and teacher capability to do the homework more effectively and by learning perfectly.

Secondly, the author assumes that only the math and science teachers' survey of the district of Sanlee's and Marlee's are adequate to take a decision on less homework. It maybe a case that for other subjects like history, art, English literature, sociology may have opposite effect like daily assignments can help a student to read and learn everyday. On the other hand, only two district results maybe flawed because of insufficient amount of data to survey. That's why teacher of their school should not immediately take a step to reduce the frequency of the assignments

Thirdly, author assumes that assignment quality of both school are same and exam results are linearly dependent on the frequency of the assignment. What if students form these two schools are assigned with different types of assignment. For example, Sanlee’s teachers provide assignments which are more basic and Marlee’s teachers provide more insightful and practical assignments which make the student’s more enthusiastic about study. Moreover, what if the marlee’s teacher sets up question papers of exams based on the assignments, therefore students are getting common and achieving higher grades. On the contrary, Sanlee’s teachers may set up tougher question papers than the regular assignments. Therefore, they are failing to have good grades.

In conclusion, author should answers all the above questions about his assumptions that weakened his arguments about reducing the frequency of the homework of high school.