The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement:

“A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we can institute this test as routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet.”

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions the newly proposed medical test that allows for the early detection of a particular disease will prevents deaths of people all over the world which would have otherwise died from the disease. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions rendered the argument suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, then the argument totally falls apart.

The argument assumes the test is cheap, affordable and easily available to every patients suffering from the disease all over the world, regardless of their social class. If the test is only available in some part of world and it is inaccessible to other parts, then the there is no evidence that the death rate from the disease will plummet.

The argument fails to address whether or not the disease is curable after successful detection. Even if this is true, there is no mention of planned action for the treatment of the disease. Early detection of the disease only increase survival rate, it is the treatment that determines whether the patient will be cured. If the treatment plans fail, this mean that disease will continue to plague the patients, eventually resulting in their death and consequently rending the early detection of the disease useless.

Lastly, supposing the early detection and solid treatment plans, the arguments still depends on clinicians following precisely test procedure, in addition with accurate interpretation of test results to the patients. An error during the test procedure will invalidate the results, misinterpretation of the results or the lack of patient’s cooperation to the treatment plan, will all impede the the test from fulfilling its purpose of saving lives.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound, the evidences that support the conclusion that the new test will cause death rate to plummet did little to prove the conclusion, as it does not address the already raised assumptions. The argument might have been strengthened if the author showed the worldwide availability of test, address the treatment options, how well the disease respond to said plans and the accuracy of the clinicians and patients when dealing with the test.