The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement:

"A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we can institute this test as a routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet."

The director of the International Health Foundation predicted that a new medical test will completely eradicate deaths caused by a particular disease because the medical test enables the early detection of the disease. However, the statement of the director is flawed because the director has assumed that the detection of the disease equals an automatic cure, a cure is available worldwide, and that tests are 100% accurate.

First of all, the director claimed that all deaths caused by a disease will disappear with the emergence of the new medical test. By making this statement, the director assumes that the detection of the disease equals treatment. However, suppose that the disease is brain cancer. Even if physicians could accurately detect brain cancer, they cannot guarantee that all patients with brain cancer can completely recover from their illness. If the director could prove that the detection of the disease guarantees recovery, such as a disease that could be instantaneously treated and eradicated by a medicine, the predictions of the director would be more persuasive.

In addition, even if the detection of the disease promises treatment and recovery, the detection of the disease does not signify that the disease is wiped out from the surface of Earth. For example, if the disease can only be cured by the blood of a minatory dragon in the mountains (a common plot in mythology), then even the detection of the disease and the knowledge of the cure do not guarantee healing. The director must offer evidence that suggests that the cure of the disease is readily availble across the world and can be immediately administered after the detection of the disease to make his or her arguments more convincing.

Finally, scientists all know that tests are never 100% accurate. Even if the disease is curable after it has been detected and a cure is available worldwide, the possibility of a false negative test implies that some patients might have the disease but are incorrectly classfied as patients without the disease. Therefore, the director is jumping to conclusions by asserting that the new medical test can prevent all deaths caused by the disease, since the test is bound to miss at least one pateint.

In conclusion, the director can make his or her arguments more powerful by providing evidence that demonstrates that the early detection of a disease guarantees a complete cure and medicine required for the cure are availble worldwide. Even so, the director would be unwise to simply state that the medical test can wipe out the disease becuase all tests are flawed and never entirely correct.