The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

The author argues that to continue the increase in in readership most experienced journalist should be hired and fire out the less experienced younger reporters.The above argument is flawed because it rely on unsupported assumption

The author assumes that hiring old and experienced journalist is the only reason to increase the readership.Since the above assumption is not mentioned what if there is another reason like periodical training to the existing journalist would also have been a cause of increased readership and what if since the readership base grown new experienced journalist had joined the firm If the author would have mentioned clearly that there is no other reason except hiring old and experienced journalist,it would have supported the argument

The author assumes that since experienced old journalist had contributed,all journalist should be old and younger less experienced had not contributed for the increase in readership.Since the above assumption is not mentioned what if younger journalist had also equal experience as old and had improved the quality of reporting and writing in the paper.If the author would have mentioned clearly that young journalist are less experienced and had not contributed to increase in readership it would have supported the argument

The authors argument fails because it has causal,sampling flaws.

He should have substantiated all his arguments.