The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation of the editor of the local newspaper that they should fire younger and less experienced journalists and instead hire most experienced journalists in order to increase their readership is based on a number of tendentious assumptions. We need several concrete evidences and only in the light of sufficient relevant evidences, will we be able to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, the editors mentions that three years ago, surveyors complained about the quality of reporting and writing and now,after hiring older more experienced journalists, they have rated them higher on quality of both reporting and writing and posits that this change is entirely attributable to the older and experienced journalists.It could be true that the then young journalists were not competent enough to come up with effective articles and later, more experienced journalists were able to work on the grievances of the subscribers but coming up with better article. At the same time, some other factor can also contribute to the better quality of reporting and writing and subsequently, increase in subscribers.We need to evaluate what exactly the subscribers complained about. It could be that the subscibers complained about the incorrect and dubious information being reported in the papers. They could also complain about a biased article or an incendiary article making a jibe at a particular community or caste or religion.In these cases, hiring more experinced journalists could not have possibly impacted the subscribers rather it was avoidance of such articles that led to improvement in feedbacks and subscriber base.Thus, we need to know what exactly regarding reporting and writing did the subscribers complain about. May be avoiding such contentious or incendiary articles in future can lead to increased readership.

Secondly, it could be that the best of the journalists are actually young reporters and their sensational articles have majorly contributed to the increase in subscribers and positive reviews in the survey.It is important to determine what kind of articles are being favoured by the masses and who are the journalists behind those articles. Instead of categorizing reporters based on age and experience, it is more important to determine those journalists whose articles are most appreciated and acknowledged. If the young but best of the journalists are fired, then it may affect the news paper business negatively by leading to reduction in subscriber base.

Thirdly, it could be that the improvement in quality of reporting and writing could not be merely due to the efforts of the older or more experienced journalists but due to widespread coverage of national and international news.It is possible that previosly the news paper focussed mostly on local news and weather news with limited coverage of national and international news. Thereafter, in the three years, mangement decided to increase their coverage on international news and sensational national news and this change was considered as improvement in the quality or reporting and writing by the subscribers. We need to see if and how the news coverage has changed that could have possibly contributed to increased readership. Categorizing journalists as old or yound or experienced or inexperinced is not likely to improve the sales base if these factors are not considered.Infact firing reporters without proper evaluation of their contribution to increased readership could be detrimental. The newspaper can also use bright colours or change font format that improved the looka nd appeal

Thus,we need answers on what exactly the subscribers complained about; was it the quality of writing or content, the contribution of the existing journalists and how their articles are perceived and changes in news coverage or format of presentation to evaluate whether the recomendation is valid or not.