"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the argument, the author suggests that the unemployment rate is unchanged because new factories are not hiring people locally even with a lot of boosting economy policy. Still, it is rife with holes and alternative explanations exist.

One of the policy is reducing the company tax by 15%, but the benefit of it, however, is unknown. It would be true and promising that companies would be able to recruit more people by the additional budget due to the tax incentive and then it accordingly helps reduce the unemployment rate. On the other hand, another possibility is that, because of the details of the criteria for an enterprise to gain the tax cut should comply with the rule that the number of the company’s employers should be more than 10,000. Therefore, it is unlikely for most of business to gain the benefit. And most of companies in Dillton are not going to hire more people because of rigid policy. Thus, the author has to consider this kind of explanation in the argument to make it more cogent.

The another explanation is that because of labors relocation, relatives of the workers also move to Dillton and most of them don’t have jobs or lose their jobs. If 1 factory worker has a family of 4 on average, others 1 to 2 people, like their spouses or family members, may lose their jobs due to relocations, therefore she or he is going to find the jobs. Then the unemployment people is rising as well as the employment, so they cancel each other and the unemployment rate remained the same eventually,

Even if the companies in Dillton hire people out of the town, that would not be likely to make sure the unemployment rate would decline accordingly, Since the migrating rate is high in Dillton, it typically has 2,000 thousand people emigrating to other cities or countries per year. And most of the them have jobs before emigrating, therefore when these people leave, the number of employers in Dillton would obviously degrades by 2,000 people. Thus, even it has additional influx of 2,000 people, it would not help decreasing the unemployment rate effectively. The author needs to consider the alternative explanations mentioned above.

In conclusion, we do hope that Dillton is going to reduce the unemployment rate as the author wish, however, there are many alternative conditions that the author has to deal with to make the argument more convincing.