Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

I believe that the school should send only those who are talented in specific field to study in a foreign country.

Many opponents may argue that student exchanging not only broadens pupil's horizons but also offer an opportunity to learn different language. Undoubtedly, they certainly benefit little or more by the experience, however, not worth in terms of the cost. Obviously, the policy requires lots of money and efforts. For example, The essential cost, besides the tuition of the target school, additional expenses such as air-plane tickets, housing, car rental and other daily routine. Single student could spend three times as much as his or her original level. In taiwan, even the best public school, like national taiwan university, funded by government, is barely to send all students to a foreign nation. As for privates schools, they tend to give the chance for students, but require students to pay by themselves. therefore, If all of students are going to study abroad for one semester, it is not feasible for the tremendous cost.

Furthermore, I believe most students are not serious studying when they are in a foreign country for just one semester. There always exists diversity in students. some are diligent and some are indolent. some of them who hold a view of tourism may hang around and do not studying seriously. Thus, the obtained results are far away from the school's expectation.

only one semester is not adequate for a student to learn something deeply. For example, a formal universities master program usually requires students spending two to three years and even four to six years for doctor program. In other words, to master one academic field, one year is apparently insufficient. it turns out to be mere experience, not really engender remarkable insights. therefore, the gain would be limited.

In conclusion, the school should not send all students to study abroad for one semester, only those who are exceptionally talented in particular field are worthy to allocate the budget effectively.