The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Although the explanation provided for the partial outcome of the council’s decision is quite plausible, it is important to examine the issue for different perspectives to understand the reason for the undeclined unemployment rate, despite the influx of two new companies into the city.

One explanation is that there could have been a sharp increase in the city population. A decrease in corporate tax is a major factor that causes intermigration between cities. The city council agreed to decrease tax rate by 15%, this provides an attractive incentive is certain to invite both companies. This possibility of company investment being a well-known may have attracted unemployed people from neighboring cities, so that although the companies employed a significant number of people it wasn’t enough to reduce the unemployment rate that had already been significantly increased.

There could also have been a sharp increase in the unemployment rate in the city. The influx of the new companies may have caused local small businesses enterprises to foldup operations because they could not compete with these larger companies. For instance, a local restaurant with about 20 employees that was unable to withstand the competition of a larger fast food company would have been put out of business; resulting in 20 new unemployed people. Similarly, consequent to reduction in corporate tax rate local businesses may have fired employees because the income of the business was sure to increase as such they did not need extra workers to maximize their income.

Lastly, following the stated explanations the companies may have indeed brought some foreign workers because citizen of Dilton city did not have the required credentials to work in those companies. Indeed, some unqualified citizens may have quit their previous jobs with the futile assurance that they were going to be employed in these factories. These factories may also have been small factories with could only employ a small insignificant fraction of the extensive unemployed population; so that the effect of employment was not sufficient to reduce the increased unemployment rate.

In summary, although the new factories may have brought new workers from outside the city, there are other explanations that should be considered before concluding that the city council’s decision did not yield the desired outcome.