Essay topics: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The topic was about West Lansburg decided to build a road alongside coastal wetland and the author claimed that the groundhog lives in that area and the population of groundhog will be declined similar to the laboring Eastern Carpenteria area the sea otter population declined as it lost his sanctuary status. the argument is based on unwarranted reasons and the argument is flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author claimed that the development of the coastal area was prohibited since the area declared as a sanctuary and the records suggest that the population of groundhog was in millions. Though the author does not provide any information about the number of exact population of the groundhog and what is the current population of them. It might be possible that due to the declination of the groundhog the area was declared as a sanctuary but not they do not need any attention and the area is suitable for the burgeon of their population. So, there is no need to be considered the area as a sanctuary.

Another claimed the author made that the effect on the West Lansburg will be similar to the nabouring area where sanctuary status repealed and as a result, the sea otter population was declined. The author made a false analogy argument by comparing both areas and assume the population of different species and their living condition is the same. It might be possible that the sea otter population was declined due to weather change or the majority population was transferred to a new area. The author also claimed that the biodiversity of that region will be destroyed if the road was built. it might possible that the road is going to built nowhere near the sanctuary. The author assumed that the council did not try to save the population of the groundhog. It might be possible that the council already made a plan for the groundhog or decided to transfer them to the nearby sanctuary.

The argument is flawed for the above reasons and based on unwarranted arguments. The author failed to provide any convincing data which can bolster the author's claims.