Essay topics: A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument reveals that the recalled food was not responsible for the illness happened to pets, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.This conclusion has been drawn on the fact that, the recalled food which has caused:vomiting,lethargy and other signs of illness to pets,the chemicals found in that has been found approved forthe use of pet.However there are many other facts or assumptions which are not considered in-order to make such conclusion that their food was not responsible and no more resources to be devoted for the investigation.

Firstly,It is found that from the tests on recalled food:all chemicals found in the food were approved in the pet food,so there is no doubt on food chemicals being used.But it may happen that the chemicals which were approved by the concerned food team,may have done some blunder or human error in calculation of chemical composition which has caused the big damage in million pounds food.If the company stops further investigation then the same issue may occur again, leading to illness to thousands of pets.So it is very important to consider this element in order to reach any conclusion which is no thought by company.

Secondly,apart from chemicals, there may be other factors which should be given a analysis like:quality of raw material used to prepare that,How is huge volume to food storage maintained and protected from any vulnerable insects or any,How is packaging of food material done which is suppose to stay healthy and qualitatively for long time.All this unstated statements need to be thoroughly analysed and looked into.

In-order to make any such conclusion that their food was not responsible for damage done to pets and no more resources to be devoted for the investigation will be considered poorly analysed decision and if the above mentioned factors are not considered it may happen in near future that company face the same complaints and pets will suffer from illness.