Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega

professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade

averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the

grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as

successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its

graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of

professors

Given that, the memo from a dean at Omega University claims that Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors, which was implemented fifteen years ago. To support the recommendation dean make some assumptions which have several flaws. Due to lack of sufficient amount of evidence the recommendation will be unsubstantiated.

Firstly, citing about attaining of good grades of student after the implementation of student evaluation of professors, dean make a conclusion that new procedure was the reason for giving good grades of professor and gaining good grades of students. But it is possible that before the implementation of new procedure teachers did not evaluate the exam paper properly. On the other hand, it can be possible that after the implementation student performance was increased. So, Dean assumption is not valid. If he gives proper evidence, then his recommendation will more persuasive.

In addition, dean argues that potential employers believe the grades at omega are inflated. For supporting his assumption he gives example of another university and claims that despite of good result students of Omega University, students are getting less job. But it cannot be claimed without substantiate evidence that higher grade is responsible for this. There a lot of internal and external reasons for which a job applicant can be rejected for a job interview. For instance, mental pressure of applicant on interview day, interview environment, interview performance etc. So, Dean should provide convincing evidence to prove his argument more persuasive.

Finally, dean makes a comparison between Omega University and Alpha University. But he do not give any description about Alpha university teaching method or grading system. It can be possible that the grading system of Alpha University is more flexible and students get higher grade than Omega University. For this Students get good job. It can also be possible that Alpha University has a good alumni association which helps student to get job.

All in all, Dean Recommendation is not based on proper evidence. To bolster his recommendation he could give explicitly reasons and description of his assumption. In consequence, before terminate student evaluation of professors, Omega University should conduct more investigation on it.