Mesa Foods, a manufacturer of snack foods that currently markets its products within a

relatively small region of the country, has strong growth potential. Mesa enjoyed a 20 percent

increase in profits last year, and its best-selling product, Diabolique Salsa, has had increased

sales over each of the past three years. Since Omni Inc. is interested in reaching 14-to-25 year

olds, the age group that consumes the most snack food, we should buy Mesa Foods, and

concentrate in particular on marketing Diabolique Salsa throughout the country.

The strategic planning department of the Omni Inc. suggests that The Omni. Inc. should buy Mesa foods and concentrate in particular on marketing Diabolique Salsa throughout the country. This recommendation is based on some assumptions. But these assumption are not supported by logical evidence. So, the recommendation is not convincing.

Firstly, Citings Mesa foods growth potential, the memo suggest that Mesa foods currently markets its products in relatively small region of the country and assumes that it will be beneficiary for Omni. Inc. to buy Mesa foods and spread it nationwide. It is right that Mesa foods is popular in small region but it will not get same preference form all people of the country. So, this assumption will more persuasive, if memo can give evidence to bolster it.

In addition, Memo says about mesa's 20 percent increasing in profit and It’s best selling product to support it's recommendation. Though Diabolique is the best Selling product of Mesa foods, it can be occurred that when this product spread throughout the nation. would not get same popularity. Also, the Mesa foods will not make same profit in the long run. In the consequence, The Omnic Inc. will face loss. Moreover, If memo can give sufficient amount of evidences that Diabolique salsa will get same preference from the nationwide then the recommendation will more substantiate.

Finally, Memo says that Omnic Inc. is interested in reaching 14 to 25 years old and the age group consumes more snack food.Though it claims that the 14 to 25 year old people are very much interested in snack food, it do not give any evidence to support it.It can be possible that people from 12 to 45 or another range prefer snack food. Also, it can be possible that a large number of people of 14 to 25 year old of small area are prefer snack food and when Mesa foods will spread throughout nation this number would decrease. So, before suggesting Omni inc. to buy Mesa foods the strategic planning department should sufficient amounts of evidence to prove this recommendation is correct.

In conclusion, though a memorandum from the strategic planning department at Omni inc. recommends buying Mesa foods and promoting sell of Diabolique salsa throughout the country, these recommendation is based on series of unsubstantiated assumption and not backed by proper evidences. If the strategic planning department gives more evidence to support recommendation then it will cogent. Before buying Mesa foods, Omni Inc should conduct further investigation whether or not it will be beneficiary for them.