Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author suggests that the introducation of a new procedure for the students to evaluate the effectiveness of professors has resulted in professors assigning higher grades, causing an inflation in grades, which has resulted in a less favourable view of Omega university by employers which has hurt the chances of graduates securing jobs.

Although plausible, the conclusion that the evaluation procedure must be terminated is not supported by sufficient evidence.

Firstly, the author implicitly assumes that the rise in grades is a result of professors artificially assigning higher grades in order to seek more favourable evaluations for students. However, the author makes no mention of how the evaluation process works, which means a potential causal relationship cannot be established. If students evaluate professors before receiving their grades, the students have no reason to evaluate their professors more highly than they would otherwise. This also means that professors have no incentive to grade their students higher.

Even if this is not the case, and professors receive evaluations after assigning grades to students, it is possible that students are able to provide valuable feedback to the professors who can then in turn modify their teaching to better suit the students' needs, which would then result in a genuine rise in average grades. The school can compare the results of tests from groups that might have benefitted from professors implementing better teaching methods as a result of feedback to those from before such a system was introduced to obtain a more objective metric of the students' true performance in class.

Lastly, it is not immediately evident that the decrease in hiring by employers from Omega university is due to a perceived inflation of grades. Higher average grades make it more difficult for employers to separate the exceptional students from the mediocre ones, with or without inflation. The author also assumes that employers solely look to grades for evaluating the eligibility of students. It is likely that a number of other factors, such as prior experience and recommendations, are taken into account by employers. If Alpha university is more adept at aiding students with these, it follows that employers would more readily look to graduates from that university over thise from Omega.

Even if it was the case that the evaluation procedure has resulted in a grade inflation, the conclusion to terminate the evaluations cannot be justified without considering and controlling for a number of other factors, and so the university should not terminate the procedure based on this alone.