"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplier of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that people will buy fabric overcoats with higher price after five years of production those overcoats again. Thus, the company will make a good profit by selling those coats especially because their major competitor does not make those coats anymore. The argument seems logical at first glance. But it needs evidences to prove different parts of it.

First of all, the author does not mention if the new wool fabric to make alpaca overcoat have the same quality compare to five years ago or not. It is obvious that if the quality is not the same people are not going to buy those overcoats. Moreover, we do not know if people are still interested to even buy alpaca overcoats after five years. Customers might have got to use other clothes other than alpaca overcoats. Or people might think that alpaca overcoats are not new fashion clothes anymore because there were no fabric coats in stores in last five years.

In addition, the author concludes that people will buy alpaca overcoat with higher price after five years again. The author has no prove of it. Customers might not be interested to pay more for those overcoats especially if they have already found their favorite clothes style in the past five years with lower price than fabric coats. Customers might buy them if they know that overcoats have the same quality like before, but even with same quality material people might still refuse to pay more for coats.

Also, the author claims that with selling fabric clothes, the company is going to make a high profit. But, he/she does not give any information about the cost of buying those wool fabrics. If the cost price is high, even if people buy them with higher price, still the company profits will not increase that much.

Last but not least, the author does not say that why their major competitor does not produce those coats anymore. Maybe because those wool fabric are expensive to buy. Thus, the competitor cannot make money from selling those overcoats. Or maybe because new supplier does not provide those wool fabrics with same high quality as before. Thus, the competitor does not want to produce alpaca overcoats with low quality materials to ruin the company reputation.

The author needs to answer different questions to prove his/her recommendation. The author should know the quality of new wool fabric, interest of people to buy those coats, and also the cost price and selling price.