"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplier of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true people will buy fabric overcoats with higher price after five years of production those overcoats again, this author’s argument does not make a cogent case for investing that money. It is easy to understand that the company will make a good profit by selling those coats especially because their major competitor does not make those coats anymore, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her claim.

First of all, the author does not mention if the new wool fabric which to make alpaca overcoat have the same quality compare to five years ago or not. It is obvious that if the quality is not the same people who are still interested to buy alpaca overcoats after five years are not going to buy those overcoats anymore. Moreover, we do not know if people are still interested to even buy alpaca overcoats after five years. Customers might have got to use other clothes other than alpaca overcoats. Or people might think that alpaca overcoats are not new fashion clothes anymore because there were no fabric coats in stores in last five years.

Additionally, the author claims that with selling fabric clothes the company is going to make a high profit; however, he/she does not give any information about the cost of buying those wool fabrics. For example, If the cost price is high, even if people buy them with higher price, still the company earnings will not increase that much.

Last but not least, the author does not say that why their major competitor does not produce those coats anymore which can make different perspective of the result. It may be because those wool fabric are expensive to buy which can cause higher purchasing price than making money. Or it may be because the new supplier does not provide those wool fabrics with same high quality as before. Thus, the competitor does not want to produce alpaca overcoats with low quality materials to ruin their company reputation.

The author can make his/her recommendation persuasive when he/she gathers information about the quality of the new wool-fabric, people’s attention to buy fabric overcoats, and also costing and selling price. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.