The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests that funding for the symphony can be eliminated from the next years's budget because there was a significant increase in donations and attendance last year. However, there are several questions that need to be answered to substantiate the author's claim.

First, it is mentioned in the article that private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent last year. We need to know what is the reason of the huge increase. People will increase their donations due to several reasons and not every reason is likely lead to a consistent contribution. For example, there was a wealthy man died last year. Therefore, his children decided to donate a large proportion of his money to the symphony since he loved classical music. In this scenario, it is not reasonable for the author to assume that the private contribution would stay at the same level for the following years.

Second, the symphony has announced to have a higher ticket prices for the next year. The question that need to be answered is whether the people will be less interested in attend concerts if the ticket prices increase. Since people would only have a certain quota of money to spend on entertainments, they might decide to watch movies or dramas if they don't want to afford the higher ticket prices for concerts. Thus, the author should do some survey to make sure how many people would still like to go to the concerts even with higher prices.

Also, the commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting. However, what is the current percentage of the spending relying on private contribution and profits of selling tickets? The symphony might still need a lot of money from the government funding to pay their employees. For example, the symphony might have 70 percent of their spending relying on funding while the other 30 percent relying on donations and profits of concerts. After the unprecedented increase in private contribution and attendance, the symphony would only need funding that corresponds for 40 percent of the money it needs to pay. Although the funding needed decreases, it is not even close to self-supporting.

The author claims that the symphony can support itself. Therefore, the funding could be eliminated. Nevertheless, he needs to answer above questions to justify his argument.