"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a statement given by some city commissioners , it is argued that the symphony has become self-supporting and mentioned that the budget that used to be allocated every year for symphony can be eliminated from coming year's budget.The commissioners have come to this conclusion based on the evidence that symphony has been contributed by private sponsors and flow of people in concert has increased almost twice in a rate. However,before this recommendation can be properly evaluated , two questions must be answered.

First of all, are the private contributor going to sponsor next year with proportionate amount of funding? In other words, can the private contribution alonewith no city funding will be enough to run the symphony properly?It is possible that those private contributions were promoting their product last year,and maybe they might not be interested to do promotion infront of same mass of people next year- pherhaps the grandiosity of symphony with proper management, possible due to city funding might have resulted private contributor to increase their sponsors as who would not want to promote themselves in a well running forum.Further, there is possibility that the timing of symphony concert and its theme and play artist might not parallel the interest of private contributor resulting decrease in the sponsorship. If either condition of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will the announcement of increase in ticket price attract the concert targeted attendees next year? The commissioners of the city prematurely assumes that the increase in price of ticket will definitely results in increase flow of attendees. However, this might not be the case. It is possible that the attendee will be discouraged to attend the concert due to increase in ticket price compared to last year-perhaps the high number of attendees last year might be the result of low price of ticket for the concert. It is likely to happen that the concert might not be able to bring out the artist, who might be worth paying for. In an ideal condition, the symphony organizing committe might call the most preffered artist, but if reality is such that they cannot be sure the most preffered artist for he show and the case where the exact artist will agree for the concert. If either of these condition is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on seversl unwarrented assumptions. If the commissiner of grandview city is able to answer the two question and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to not allocate budget for funding the symphony's concerts.