The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony Last year however private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the

The author of the article discussed his suggestion that the Grandview Symphony can be totally self-supporting for recent developments. This policy can help to eschew financial expenditures. He based his opinion on based known facts: proliferating private contribution and increasing attendance which brought optimistic incomes. But his suggestion was still dubious and not convincing for ignoring tremendous other elements. To make his conclusion more concrete, he has to take into the considerations of the following questions.

First, he said that the investment of entertainment in the Grandview Symphony has expedited in last year. The most serious foible lies in the time span. There is little possibility for a company to double its funding in just that short time. The only possibly explanation can be a coincidence which can be that a famous institution wanted to goad the entertainment market so it just used prodigious investments to galvanize people awareness. There is another explanation that some famous star might attend that symphony which earned numerous exposure and gargantuan funds from advertisements. Whatever the situation was, the only question was the short time. After that fanatic atmosphere, this symphony market could possibly become frigid again which definitely needs the support from the government.

Second, this year’s Grandview Symphony attributed many audiences which brought a surge of incomes. This phenomenon was fallacious because concerts in this year were located in park which means this series were exactly gratuitous and brought no incomes. The park was the key element for attracting audiences. Many citizens are not likely to spare free money to attend a specific symphony because they can get access to music from many tunnels e.g., TV, the Internet and some free ceremonies. Does the ticket deserve its price? The author suggests to increase the price which is just facile for the above reasons. The next year’s situation could be less tickets sold than expectations. For these reasons, government cannot withdraw its funds when lacking insightful researches.

Third, the author insisted on lessening funds based on the assumption that these doubled funds or collected tickets’ income were enough. It was universally acknowledged that a symphony is very arduous and demanding which can hardly be afforded by private investors. The author just mentioned that the contributions doubled but ignored the key total number. Revealing this accurate number is very critical to gauge corresponding policy. But lack of fastidious investigations makes the author’s opinion unconvincing. This also applies the tickets’ suggestions. Raising from 10 dollars to 20 dollars doesn’t attenuate the quandary. So, to evaluate the possible solutions, a fussy account should not be disregarded.

In conclusion, the author said that some city commissioners suggest to withdraw funds for the symphony in the committee which is too half-baked and many realistic factors would hamper their idea.