The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children

spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in

the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian

village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying

cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding

of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article it is stated that, observations concluded by Dr. Karp which was that, "in the island of Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents" are completly invalid, he has also provided a few evidence points in the article to support his statement. However, before we accept hos statements can be evaluated , three questions must be answered.

First of all, Can we conclude that children are reared by only the parents just by asking the children who mostly won't remember what their childhood was like? The author has assumed that the children are talking to their biological parents disproves what Dr. Field had stated, it is possible that Dr. Karp's and Dr. Fields conclusions both together contribute to the research as the people in the island of Tertia were belonging from the same blood line which could be why the people of those island reared the children along with the biological parents

Secondly, Can the author use the knowledge of one culture to many different cultures such as the culture of the Tertia Island? The author assumes that people's culture of other islands is similar to the culture of Tertia Island. It is highly possible that the people of Tertia Island bond along easily and treat people as their families hence rear the childeren together as a family also the children intereact with their blood parents more because of where they usually eat and sleep.

Thirdly, Can the author publish an article and state someone wrong without having concreate evidence? The author himself has stated in the artile that they are yet to get specific evidence to make his evaluations more concreate. The research that the author has performed seems to be incomplete because of which it can create assumptions amoung people about an Island and it could also alter the evaluations of other researchers who were working on the same research.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considered flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted asssumptions. If the author is able to answer the above 3 questions and offer more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendations to publish an article or even an paper regarding it.