The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that the children in Tertia are raised by parents rather than villagers. He/She also points out that observation is not a valid method to study cultures. However, due to some logical flaws, these do not constitute a persuasive argument in favor of its conclusion and fail to provide convincing supports making the argument sound an invulnerable.

Citing survey of island children, the author reports that in Tertia, it is children’s parents who bring them up rather than entire village. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that survey. The author interviewed with children living in islands which includes Tertia. But it is not clear how many children were interviewed. Maybe only two kids were involved in the interview and then the survey is invalid. Even if the sample is large enough, maybe children who spend more time talking about their parents are not come from Tertia. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back to the author’s argument.

Additionally, the author implies that spending more time talking about parents means that these children are reared by parents. However, the argument fails to provide any evidence to support this assumption. For example, maybe these children are in adolescence and they used to antagonizing their parents. Possibly they may run away from home, living in their classmates’ home. Then they would spend time complaining their parents during the interview. More evidence needs to be provided to convince the reader that these children are reared by their parents.

The author assumes too hastily that the observation approach is invalid because of the opposite conclusion. However, this divergence can be reasonable because Dr. Field did this survey twenty years ago. Perhaps 20 years ago the village was poor and parents had to work hard all day, and they take turns taking care of children. With the development of economy and technology, these parents have more time rearing their own children. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should provide evidence to show that children used to be reared by village to invalidate Dr. Field’s investigation.

To summarize, the arguer fails to substantiate his/her claim that Dr. Field’s conclusion and observation method are wrong because the evidence cited in the analysis does not and strongly support to what the arguer maintains. To make the argument more convincing, the author would have to provide more information with regard to the scope and constitution of his/her survey and more evidence to it is now parents who rears the children. Additionally, he would have to demonstrate that it is not the whole village that raised children 20 years ago.