The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather tha

In this argument, the author claims that Dr. Field’s conclusion about the Tertian village culture is invalid and the observation-centered method used by Dr. Field in his survey is also invalid. In addition, the interview-centered approach used by the graduate students on the author's team to address the issue of child-rearing traditions in Tertian villages would have provided more accurate results and the method could be widely applied in other island cultures. At first glance, we cannot deny the rationality of it to a certain extent, but further reflection reveals that it neglects some substantial concerns that should be addressed in the argument.

The immediate question is whether or not the author’s conclusions on the rearing of the tertia island children using the interview-centered approach are inconsistent with Dr. field’s conclusions using the observation-centered approach necessarily proves that the author’s conclusion is valid and Dr. field’s conclusion is invalid. The argument depends on the assumption that the conclusions of the past twenty years must be less valid than those of the present. However, the argument fails to provide any evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps the conclusion Dr. field reached twenty years ago was correct and valid at the time. Thus, to strengthen the argument that Dr. field’s conclusion is invalid, the authors would also need to argue that child rearing patterns in the tertia islands twenty years earlier were contrary to Dr. field’s findings.

Additionally, for the claim that the interview-centered method to studying cultures is more accurate than the observation-centered approach. the author unfairly assumes that, each member of the author team ensures that the results obtained using the interview-centered method are accurate and objective. However, the author does not give an account of the number of people interviewed or the scope of the interviews, nor can he guarantee the veracity of the results. Perhaps the children interviewed did not want everyone to know that their biological parents had failed in their rearing responsibilities and thus gave untrue information. Thus, to strengthen the argument that interview-centered method to studying cultures is more accurate, the author needs to explain the exact number of people interviewed, the scope of the sample, and other ways to verify the truth of the interviewees’ statements.

Furthermore, the author implies that the interview-centered method can be implemented in other island cultures. The underlying assumption of this argument is all island cultures. Each island’s culture can be accurately and validly concluded using the interview-centered method. However, the argument fails to provide any evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps children on other islands are reluctant to be interviewed, and even if they are, they are unwilling to tell the real information. So, in order to get the most accurate results in the most effective way, we should adopt different survey methods according to the actual situation of children in each island, instead of rigidly applying the interview-centered method to each island culture.

In conclusion, this argument is not convincing as it stands. To strengthen it, the author would have to provide more evidence such as the validity of the Dr. Field’s conclusion twenty years ago, the design of the author’s interview-centered method study, and the specific situation for the surrounding islands. If the argument had included the given factor discussed above, it would have been more insightful and logically acceptable.