The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

According to Dr. Karp, the conclusion which Dr. Field had made about the children of Tertia island twenty years ago is incorrect. To prove this, he had recently conducted a similar study on the children of Tertia which Dr. Field had done. The argument of Dr. Karp rest on series of assumptions that are illogical and unpersuasive. This would be proved in the following essay:

Firstly, the study done by Dr. Field was two decades ago, which is a huge time ago. Many things have change in the last twenty years. There is no mention that Dr. Karp had studied the same set of children which Dr. Field had done. The children which Dr. Field had studied have now become adults. The thought process about things could change from one generation to another. Unless, there is mention that the same set of children were studied both the times, it would be wrong to suggest that Dr. Field conclusion about the children is invalid.

Secondly, Dr. Karp states that observation-centred approach is incorrect. He states that interview-centred method should be followed as it gives more accurate understanding of the subjects. There is so much assumptions in this statement. Like, it might happen that the children which were studied got nervous during the interview so the answers were different, also there is no mention about number of questions which were asked during the interview or what were the number of participants in the study. Unless, we know about all these parameters it would not be right to conclude that interview-based approach is better than observation.

Thirdly, the team of Dr. Karp consist of graduate students. It might happen that as they were fresher, they interpreted the answers of the children in a different manner. Also, this could be a case that as there was no experience person in the team of Dr. Karp the results which they found differ from the one which Dr. Field had found twenty years ago.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp should consider all these factors before coming to any kind of judgement. Unless, same factors are available and compared it is very difficult to conclude that any study is wrong or the method which one has followed is incorrect. To strengthen the claim Dr. Karp should send more experience people to interview the children and increase the number of children for the interview.