The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, shows a comparison between his and Dr. Field's study on the Tertia village children. Dr. Karp is adamant on proving Dr. Field's observation as incorrect as his interviews with the children living in the group of Island's is opposite to what Dr. Field had claimed. Although these observations are different, there is a lack of evidence while determing which one is true.

Firstly, Dr. Field had taken these observations twenty years ago which quite a long period of time. Within twenty years, the cultures and traditions change in a society. In this sophisticated world, change is only permanent thing as we are growing exponentially. If twenty years ago, people living in Tertia village were close and belonged to one big ethnic race, then all the adults might have taken care of all of their children. In this case, the study made by Dr. Field is not invalid. In order to strengthen the argument, a brief research should be done to find out the behavior and ancestors link of the people living in Tertia village now.

Secondly, Dr. Karp has mentioned that observation-centered approach for cultures is invalid as it gives inappropriate results that children living in the Tertia village were reared by the entire village and not just by their biological parents. Just because one set of observation was incorrect the entire approach is being undermined. If the obseration-centered approach was more fruitful while establishing relations between various cultures, then the statement given by Dr. Karp for Dr. Fields approach does not hold water.

Lastly, Dr. Karp's interview-centered approach is proved to be working well for understanding child-rearing traditions but on what parameters is this approach being accessed. Does it have the neccessary questions required for the childrens to answer? And on what age group is this approach focusing on? There are quite a few doubts that are to be answered by interview based study as the article does not give much details on it.

To conclude, the arugument given in the article lacks evidence on the above mentioned concerns and assumptions. If there is systematic research provided along with the comparative study on both the approaches, then the argument can hold some reliabilty on making one of the anthropologists or both, to have a better conclusion.