The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, it was stated that an observation conducted by Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist on children being reared by an entire village instead of their biological parent is invalid due to a recent interview conducted by Dr. Karp that showed that the children spent more time talking about their biological parents than other adults in the village. However, before this conclusion can be accepted, the following assumptions needs to examined.

Firstly, Dr. Karp assumed that the fact that this culture doesn’t exist now meant it didn’t exist 20 years ago. Dr. Field observations took place twenty ago before Dr. Karp recent interview. Perhaps, the culture of the Tertia people changes with each leadership and 20 years ago, the reigning chief implanted that culture then and it changed years later after his death, which led to it not being anymore. Also, it is possible that the social interaction of the Tertia people was lacking 20 years ago, and thus led to the culture of entire village rearing the children in order to foster social relationship and it was stopped years later when the result have been achieved. If the above scenario is true, then the assumption does not hold water.

Secondly, children talking about their biological doesn’t invalidate the earlier observation that they were raised by the entire village. Dr. Karp assumed that the fact that the children spoke a lot about their biological parent refutes Dr. Field Observation. Maybe, the children were only raised by the entire village up to certain age in order to instill the culture and value of their societies in them after which they parents continues with the upbringing, thus, responsible for the frequent mention of their biological parents since they spent other intricate part of their life’s with them. More so, it is possible that part of the rearing done by the villagers include special explanation about family and how relevant parents are in the life of the children, thereby instilling the relevance of parents in the children upbringing, thus, responsible for the frequent mention of their biological parents. If the is above true, then it invalidates the conclusion made by Dr. Karp.

Lastly, the author assumed that the interview-based approach used by his graduate student is more accurate than Dr. Field observation method. Perhaps, the interview method will only cover view of the Tertia people who won’t be a true representation of the entire population, therefore, resulting in an inaccurate result. Also, the accuracy of the research which is dependent on the graduate student cannot be compared to a research carried out by a renowed anthropologist. The graduate students have limited exposure and experience and it is possible that the result from the data is erroneous. If this is the case, then the assumption is unwarranted.

Conclusively, the author’s conclusion is flawed based on several unwarranted assumption. If the author can provide more evidence that compares the two research method using a standard research analysis approach, then, the conclusion can be evaluated for credibility and overall acceptance.