The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement above, gives two contradict methods of two anthropologists about child-upbringing culture of a island. The letter method: interview center method may be a more accurate method, but there are some gaps describing the method. It will need more other process other than interviewing the children of Tertia; to establish the letter method as a more accurate method. And observation method for evaluate the child-rearing culture cannot be deny as a whole wrong method.

To know the culture of any place it is very important to communicate with the inhabitants there; it is the most dependent process to know them easily. The letter method stated by Dr. Krap, only includes communicating with the children; there is no mention about the view of adults regarding the issue. Children are naive, may be they spend much of their time in home with parents, but they are reared by the adults of the island, when their parents are in working place. Any children would be fond of their parents, so they surely would talk about their parents. There is no mention that they if they were asked about the other adults; may be, they were asked about their parents. So, by interviewing the adults of the island would give a more clear view of the child-rearing culture of the island.

Moreover, the connection between the cultures of island of Tertia with the other island has not mentioned; in which basis does the interview-centered method in Tertia can help in evaluating the culture of other island? The geographical position of the islands, similarities in other cultural views could be mentioned here. This idea entails more information about the cultural relationship between the islands. The observation method cannot be underestimated only in the basis of what children said, more proves need to invalidate it.

Observation of anything can differ from person to person, it cannot be a process of evaluating the culture of a group; but there is no mention of that, Dr. Field did not interview the people of the island. Also, the observation method cannot be underestimated only in the basis of the interviewing children, more proves need to invalidate it.

Culture differs from place to place, any particular culture of a place can only be known through the people of that place. So, talking to them regarding any particular culture; help to reach any particular view of that culture. Child-rearing culture can be distinctive for any particular place; the similarities in cultures of places can be established by individually evaluating the cultures of each place. Hence, more theory need to confirm the letter method most accurate.