The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by graduate students is that an interview-based approach for an anthropological study is a better approach than an observation-centered approach. It seems logical to follow Dr. Karp’s train of thought that parents raise their children versus the village as determined by Dr. Field. However, in order to validate Dr. Karp’s argument as the correct conclusion, there are many pieces of information missing. The determination will be made once analysis is done upon the gathering of the evidence.

The first piece of information needed for evaluating Dr. Karp’s claims is whether or not Tertia is receiving more external influences for parenting. In the 20 years between Dr. Field’s study and Dr. Karp’s study, there is a possibility that Tertia may have been exposed to practices of a nuclear family. For example, if there was evidence of people with more nuclear families settling in and integrating into the island’s population, it can weaken Dr. Karp’s argument that Dr. Field’s argument is incorrect. Perhaps both Dr. Field and Dr. Karp are correct. However, it can not be conclusively proven that Dr. Field is incorrect in using an observation-based study.

Another piece of evidence is that the exact location of the interviews on the island were never established. According to the article, Dr. Karp and his graduate students did interviews of “children living in the group of island that includes Tertia.” It is not sure that any Tertian child was interviewed. It could turn out that children were interviewed from every island but Tertia. It could be that Tertian children are raised communally while other children are not. Therefore, once again, we cannot conclusively prove that Dr. Field is incorrect in either his conclusion or his use of ab observation based study.

Another issue is the content of the interviews has never been established. If Dr. Karp asked questions about the children’s parents’ contributions, the children would answer questions about the parents instead of about the communal environment they were raised in. The fact that they speak more about their parents versus the adults who raised them does not invalidate Dr. Field’s conclusion or his methods.

Finally, Dr. Karp concluded that Dr. Field’s use of an observation-based method was incorrect based on one study. More studies need to be examined in order to ascertain that using observation is less valid than using interview-based studies. We would need to look at more anthropological studies and design of the these studies. Perhaps Dr. Field did not conduct an effective observational study and drew incomplete conclusions, but to make such grandiose claims, there needs to be additional evidence.

We need more evidence for a better understanding of both Tertia and the strengths and weaknesses of Dr. Karp’s conclusion and article. We need to know about Tertia and its surrounding islands, the changes over the past years, and the way the studies were conducted. We also need to more information if we are to extend the results of a study about one island culture to all anthropological studies.