The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation presents a view that I do not agree with as I believe it is important to not only praise positive actions but to correct negative actions when they occur.

As a software engineer, I agree that it is always important to praise positive actions as it encourages actions that should be repeated. In psychology, positive reinforcement, or rewarding good behavior, has been shown to encourage productivity and overall quality of work. In comparison, negative reinforcement, or punishing behavior that is considered desirable, has been shown to decrease productivity and output. For example, positive reinforcement for a computer scientist may be appreciation of the scientist’s code or a raise. These behaviors will improve a computer scientist’s work ethic and code. In comparison, saying the computer scientist is doing a bad job or decreasing a salary may impact the work ethic of a computer scientist. With praise, at a subconscious level, the drive to repeat good behavior will be psychologically enforced.

For negative behavior, however, it is important to create an environment where negative actions are not repeated. Negative behavior may be something as simple as not providing proper documentation for code or something severe such as not reaching milestones in a project. If actions are ignored when the actions are first committed, the person may not even know that he/she is committing an incorrect action. Calling attention to negative behavior will allow the person to understand that he/she is committing an incorrect action and give space to correct the action.

For example, consider a student who is hired as a programmer in a company. In university, the student completes projects in the scope of weeks with more of a focus of completeness and correctness of projects. In the workplace, the student will have to provide documentation and work with other teammates on a project that will be developed in a time larger than a couple of weeks. If a student does not understand the importance of communicating their work effectively, calling attention to the behavior versus ignoring the behavior or punishing behavior will allow the student to correct the behavior in a timely manner.

This also fits with psychological studies over the subject. When punishment is handled in a positive manner where the subject is rewarded for bad behavior, the subject does not change his/her behavior. If the subject is disciplined with negative punishment, the subject’s behavior changes drastically. However, the subject is placed under high stress. Using the extinction method, or withholding positive or negative punishment and demonstrating positive actions, is just as effective as negative punishment while causing less psychological stress to the subject.

Thus, with psychological evidence, I can firmly state that praising positive actions is correct. However, ignoring negative actions, or positive punishment, can lead to repetition of unwanted behavior. Therefore, in order to change negative actions, the extinction methodology should be applied and positive behavior should be modeled and encouraged. If a person continues to demonstrate negative actions after positive behavior is modeled, the person should be disciplined.

In conclusion, while the suggestion is partially correct, following the instruction completely, especially with regards to negative behavior, can perpetuate unwanted behavior.