The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entir

It might seem logical to agree with the argument in which Dr,Karp has mentioned in his article that the children in Tertia are owned by their biological parents and are not reared by the entire village which eventually leads to the conclusion whether observation centered approach is good or interview centered is good.However the argument can end up being weaker than it seems or valid enough based on the facts and evidences provided.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate Dr.Karp's argument is that whether the conditions in the island of Tertia has changed in these 20 years because Dr.Field has conducted his study in the island 20 years back .Which is why it is possible that the conditions might have changed now.For example it might happen that the Westerners might have settled their bringing out changes in their culture than Dr.karp's argument would be weakened.

Another piece of evidence is that Dr.Karp along with his graduate students has interviewed children of the island including Tertia.If we were to learn that he never interviewed a single Tertian child than this significantly weakens the conclusion.For example, that children on Tertia are raised communally, whereas children on other islands nearby are raised by their biological parents.

In order to fully evaluate this article we would also need the evidences of both Dr.Field as well as karp's. For example we actually do not know whether Dr.Field had actually stayed with the Tertian people and had made observation or he was staying in a faraway place and made it.To discuss about Dr.Karp's facts whether for many days had he interviewed those children,what kind of questions did he asked them.Just the mere fact that the discuss about their biological parents often and not about other adults does not conclude that they are raised by their biological parents.Without knowing what the children has actually answered, it is hard to accept the conclusion of Dr.karp.

It is difficult to have a discussion when the evidences are not mentioned properly.Also the result of Dr.karp's study to the conclusion that interview based approach is better than observation approach based approach we need to check the study designs of both these approaches.Maybe Dr.Field's did not conducted the observational study design in an effective way.In order to make such grandiose claims, Dr. Karp really needs a lot of additional evidence.

Clearly, then, we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of Dr. Karp’s article. We need to know about Tertia and the surrounding islands, whether or not they have changed over the past 20 years. We also need to know about study design (Dr. Karp’s and Dr. Field’s). And we really need a lot more information if we want to extend the results of a study about one island culture to all anthropological fieldwork.