The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article (Dr. Karp) argues the conclusion that the children in Tertia village were raised by the entire village. He stated in his article that the conclusions of the initial anthropologist (Dr. Field) that visited the area were invalid and do not depict the original culture of the Tertian’s. At first glance, this might seems logical; however, his argument is flawed without substantial proof for conclusion.

First, the author assumes that what held true twenty years ago in the village of Tartia still holds at the time of research. Twenty years is enough time for the demography of a village to change. It might be that, twenty years ago the villagers were very friendly and helped each other. This might account for the children of the villagers mixing without worries. It can also be contended that some physical forces might have warranted the children staying close to their parents than anyone else in the village. Take for instance, maybe recently some contagious disease which can be contracted while mingling with members of the society exists. The result is that children are forced to stay glued to their biological family. If this is the case, there will definitely be a shift from the former to the latter. In a view to strengthen his argument, a survey of the people living in the village must be taken, were they group of friendly people twenty years ago? What are their behaviors towards children recently? Is there any contagious disease that might prevent children from mingling with other people recently? All these must be taken into consideration.

Secondly, the author concludes that since the children interviewed talked more about their parents, it means they stayed with their parents more. This might not be true. Children are attracted towards those who they like most, not necessarily those that bring them up. They are seldom attracted to those who buy them stuffs. In a particular survey, children tends to talk better and very good about those that buy them stuffs such as goodies, chocolates, clothes etc. If this is the case, they are more likely to talk excellently about their biological parents.

Logically, the result of a survey cannot be trusted. The author states that children from different Island and the Tertian Island were being questioned. What makes us know that the number of children interviewed in Tertia was an ample representation of the children in the village? It is possible that they might have interviewed minor in the village, in which case is a false representation of the children in Tertia. Who knows, five percent of the children might have been interviewed? If truly, the children in Tertia spend time with their parents, the question should be what is the total number of children interviewed? Finally, the author might have included other Island data in his observation in which case those not depicts that of Tartia’s entirely, fully knowing well that other Island is not Tertian Island and can only be used for a similar comparison. To strengthen this argument, the author must conduct a fresh interview in the village of Tertia with majority of the population (both children and parents) considered in the observation.

In conclusion, to make the author’s argument worth-while, the interview-centered method of his team of graduate students that resides in Tertia should be able to establish a much more accurate method of observation, looking into the statistical demography and historical overview of the village. Questionnaires also directed to members of the village both young and old will reveal the culture of the people.