The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that the culture of Tertia will be same despite the twenty years time difference, concluded that Dr Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture and method of observation are invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the culture of Tertia village will be same in terms of time. For one, the culture of rearing children may be changed now than Dr Field's time as the interview had been done twenty years ago.More significantly, the people of island of Tertia may treat children in a different ways than 20 years ago which cannot make Dr. Field's observation invalid.

The argument also do not provide the information of how many people surveyed in both times. It may happen of conducting of less number of family participated in survey for both cases.Had the argument provided exact information about number of families covered by the survey then it can be justified the validity of Dr. Field's conclusion.

Finally, the argument claims that the interview-centereed method that the graduate students of author is currently using in Tertia which will establish a much more accurate understanding of child rearing tradition. However, the author do not clearify the limit of much more accuracy which is in fact a vague term. Thus this vague term cannot justify the validity of Dr Field's method.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Dr Field's conclusion about Tertia child tradition and method of observation is invalid compared to the author's observation and method.