The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents.

However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these

children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my

team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of childrearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how

the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The growing and character development of a child involves multiple factors. It includes situations and people that lead to the overall nurturing and maturing of his/her emotional, social and intelligence quotients.

Dr. Karp mentions that the study undertaken by him and his graduate students is focused on an interview-centred method. However, his study was focused not alone on Tertia but was targeted at the entire group of islands that include Tertia. Hence, only a few children from Tertia would have been approached for this. Unless Dr. Karp can establish that a proper sampling technique was used for choosing the children to be interviewed, his/her study cannot be accepted.

Children talking more about their biological parents more could be because they live with their parents and not necessarily because they are reared only by their parents. The interview questions could have been framed such that the answers needed the children to talk about their biological parents more. It might not have included questions about all facets of child development. It is also a possibility that children may not answer or understand the interview questions entirely.

While Dr Field observed the community as a whole, Dr. Karp’s investigations were narrowed to children and did not include even their biological parents, who are concluded to be most involved in child-rearing. Coming to conclusions from such a limited interview is incorrect. Also, since cultures are very varying, it is not scientific to use the same interview questions across all islands in the group.

Since Dr. Karp’s study was narrow and does not seem to cover all aspects necessary for an anthropological study, one cannot consider Dr. Field’s study invalid from it. It is also incorrect to conclude that all observation-centred studies are wrong just from this one case.

Hence, Dr. Karp’s study has to be evaluated for sampling techniques, questions asked, methods used to conduct the interviews, the audience of interview etc. before being accepted as authentic. Unless these tests are done, Dr Field’s study cannot be proved wrong. Even if Dr. Field’s study is proved wrong, that conclusions cannot be used to vote against all observation-centred studies.