The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific

circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position.

Teaching is considered to be the noblest profession. It requires an apt understanding of the subject being taught, student psychology and behaviour. On the other hand, teaching is not restricted to classrooms. A mother giving early lessons to her child on his/her character is also teaching. It has been claimed that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I fully disagree with this statement.

If a teacher, be it in a classroom or at any other occasion, goes on to ignore a child committing a mistake, he/she will never realise that it is a mistake until it is too late to correct, leading to heavy repercussions. For example, a child mispronouncing a word such as ‘knowledge’ without knowing that ‘k’ has to be silent will continue the mistake until he/she is probably shamed before an audience. In another case, a mother might ignore that her child is aggressive and violent towards peers. The child might grow up to become a violent adult as well. A driving instructor might ignore a student forgetting to carry his/her license, which could continue until the student is fined by the police.

Continuous praising will also increase pride in a student, considering himself/herself to be a master in the field, while actually being the opposite. Increased pride will grow into over-confidence and when an eventual failure occurs, inability to face trauma. A common situation is when a child makes a lot of spelling mistakes while writing which the teacher ignores because even though the student spells wrong, knows the concepts well for which the child is praised. The child will never focus on improving her spelling skills. When the child takes a public examination scored elsewhere, he/she might perform badly due to bad writing even though the concepts were correct. He/she will find it difficult to accept that a mistake was made and will lose confidence.

Teaching which ignores negative actions and praising positive ones alone makes a student habitual to only praise. When someone actually does point out, the student might react angrily due to lack of familiarity with constructive criticism. The student might also be very pompous, due to which teamwork could be difficult.

It is necessary that a teacher praises as well as reprimands a student for positive and negative actions respectively. Only then, will all-round development of the child take place.