The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this argument, we have to acknowledge that there is a large time difference between these two expeditions, which may allow customs to change, as well as stating that not all the customs on the islands are the same.

Firstly, there is a twenty year difference between Dr. Field’s visit and Dr. Karp’s visit. The native people are not the same as they were twenty years ago and actions and beliefs change between generations of people. When Dr. Field observed the tribe, the generation of parents that he saw may have wanted their children to be nurtured by the tribe instead of just their parents.

Secondly, we cannot conclude that living on all the islands is the same as living on Tertia. The native people of Tertia may have different customs and beliefs. A prominent custom on the island of Tertia may be to have to the children be more immersed into the tribe and having the entire tribe be a prominent father and mother figure. Whereas on the other islands, the children talked more about their parents because the parents may secluded their children from the other adults in their tribe.

However, with interviewing the people instead of observing, the researchers could gain more insight into the tribe’s culture. With Dr. Karp’s team, they were able to gain knowledge from the people and how their tribe may be structured. With Dr. Field just observing the tribe, he would not gain the full amount of information that the tribe has to offer.

In conclusion, there is a twenty year difference between the Dr. Field and Dr. Karp’s expeditions and we cannot say that the traditions are the same for all of the islands.