The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in this argument states that his research proves "Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well." He also claims that "The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures." He assumes that since in an interview conducted by him, the children are found to be talking more about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, the findings of Dr. Field does not hold true. However, before the author's claims are to be taken into account, it is essential to strictly scrutinize the situation and challenge his asusmptions based on which the findings have been justified. This short communication shall try to analyze three of the assumptions on which the author's claim rests.

Firstly, the author is comparing his recent study to Dr. Field's one- which dates back to twenty years. It is thus quite probable that things have changed hugely in these years. It might be possible that the island cultures have undergone massive reforms or changes and thus the pattern of upbringing has changed. It is also possible that with passing time, although the children are still raised by their entire family, the recent parent shave become more inclined to their children; thus spending a higher proportion of time with them. Not just in these remote islands, it is a common prevalance these days that the recent parents, even in the most developed countries or cities, have become more affectionate as well as concerning towards their offsprings than they were two decades back. Hence, to challenge Dr. Field's claims of those days is completely not justified since the conditions may be quite true considering the time this research was conducted in.

Secondly, the author has been weakly assuming that since in an interview the children keep talking more about their parents, they must have been raised by them. A child is always drawn towards their parent's affection much more than others, no matter how much time they spend with them. It is thus possible that even today, if children continue to be rasied by the entire village, at the end of the day they dine with their parents and go to bed with them. Thus, the influence of their parents and their inclination remains stronger than others. We can safely challenge this assumption and look for more concrete evidences to support the claim of shifting patterns in child uprising.

Lastly, the author goes on to claim that the "observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well." In most cases, minute details about any family can be found only through keen observations. In contrast, the author's way of coming to conclusions through interviewing may turn out to be faulty since children are likely to deter from the actual truth. As mentioned in the point above, during interviews, children may deviate from the actual scenario by bringing into picture their natural inclination towards parents. In such cases, although they may be spending more time with the other adults of the island, they would tend to speak more about their parents. This can leads to completely biased inferences and resultant wrong claims. Thus, the two approaches of data collection and inferencing cannot be compared.

In conclusion, I would like to state that the author's claims of "Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well."- is based on a certain set of weak assumptions which are deemed to fall apart, if minutely analyzed. It is, thus, essential to call for more evidences to accuse the past research of being faulty. More details of the present family structure as well as information of the situation as it prevailed twenty years back is necessary, both through observations and questionning, to hold the argument true.