The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article claims that Dr. Field’s conclusion about the culture of Terian village is not correct, and accordingly, the author rejects the observation-centered approach for studying cultures. He claims that the interview method is a better approach to study cultures. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, a few questions must be answered.

First of all, does children’s talking about their parents more than other adults mean that they were entirely reared by their parents? Furthermore, we do not know what were the questions in the interview about. Maybe researchers only asked about their parents or their family, and children had to talk mostly about them. If the questions above were true, then the argument is flawed.

Second, does interview with children tell us all about the culture in a region? I mean, culture is a pretty comprehensive word, and when someone wants to study the culture, he or she has to consider many factors, not just what or about whom children mostly talk about. Researchers have to at least talk with each generation in that particular society and study their traditions and many other subjects in order to fully grasp the culture of that village. This question, if not be answered appropriately, then one cannot rely on the proposed conclusion.

Finally, if one result of an approach is proved to be invalid, can we refute the method in general? For example, let us assume that the conclusion presented by Dr. Karp was correct. He/She can not readily repudiate the whole observation-centered approach used by Dr. Field. Maybe Dr. Field did not accurately employ this approach, or even maybe this particular approach has some limitations. In any case, one cannot easily debunk the whole idea. If the author fails to provide more evidence about the faults of the observation-centered approach, his or her conclusion is not totally correct.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions stated above(perhaps refer to other studies of his/her or other scientists), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.