The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article written by Dr. Karp states that the conclusions made by Dr. Field twenty years ago from observing children in Tertia are invalid. However, many factors need to be considered to evaluate Dr. Karp's conclusion. One factor is the difference in timelines between the observations. Dr. Karp mentions that the conclusions made by Dr. Filed were based on his observations that were made twenty years ago. The culture of a geographic area often modifies with time, with the possibility that some values and traditions that were followed at a particular point of time may have lost significance and may not be practiced anymore. It is possible that the children in Tertia were indeed reared by an entire village when Dr. Field had visited the place and made his observations but with time this tradition was lost and supplanted by a new one. So, it is not possible to state the conclusions made by Dr. Field as invalid.

The article also assumes that because the children talk more about their biological parents, they were raised by their parents alone. There is no clear statement that cogently explains the correlation between children talking more about their parents to them being raised only by their parents. Children would naturally have a penchant towards their biological parents and would know more about their biological parents, hence talk more about them.

Furthermore, there is little information given about the interview-centered approach that the author mentions. There is no clear reasoning given as to why does Dr. Karp states that this approach is better than the observation-centered one. The process by which the interview-centered approach studies and arrives at conclusions should be evaluated to attribute validity to the conclusions. The interview approach is also said to be useful for understanding child-rearing traditions of other islands but there is no explanation given as to why it is so.

There is hardly any information given about the type of questions being asked, the age group of children that would be interviewed. This is necessary to conclude that the results of this technique would accurately give us all information about the culture. To conclude, there are a lot of grey areas that need to be explored and some questions that need to be answered before positing that this new approach would indeed provide us accurate results.