The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

The passage states that if the Classical Shakespare Theatre of Bardville institutes a 'Shakespare in the Park' program, their profits will increase significantly. However, when we take a closer look at the presented data, it is possible to realize that this conclusion is rife with holes and assumptions. More information regarding this isseu is needed in order to give the Theatre's administrators proper tools in order to make an informed decision.

First of all, it is important to analyze the auhtor's dubious claim that the solution to the problem would be to attract new members in order to increase the audience and, therefore, the profits. It is possible that the profits of a theatre with small audience are greater than one with hundreds of viewers. An unpleasent budget has uncountable possible causes. Maybe a bad administration is causing the profits to be much smaller that they should. If that is the case, the author's indicated solution will be likely to be inefficient. Therefore, it is necessary to analyze what is causing the profits to decrease, and attack the main reasons for that.

Closely linked to the aforementioned assumption is the author's boulder hypothesis that instituting a program that is similar to a successful one, adopted in nearby company two years ago, would create the same effects. This affirmation is flawed in many ways. To start it all, there is no information about how similar the communities are, and how diferent the people's habits are now than two years ago. Moreover, the example to be followed is of a Repertory Company, that may present completely different results in very similar actions when compared to a Classical Theatre Company. This fragile claim must not be taken into consideration when deciding the best choice to solve the problem.

Moreover, the author mentions that they increased advertising in order to reverse the declining audience numbers, but this action were not effective in stopping the profits to decrease. But how much was spent in advertising? Where these advertisements took place? It is possible that more money than necessary was spent, causing the profits to continue declining, even with an increase at the income. And, if they were to use advertising in a modern, effective way, considering the internet and social media, like Instagram and Facebook, the effects would have been better. The author would benefit from bringing more information regarding this issue, like the amount spent in advertising and what were the direct effects on those on the profits.

Hence, while the author does highlight a reasonable possibility, more information regarding this issue is needed in order to persuade more critic readers. If, in fact, starting the 'Shakespare in the Park' program is the best alternative to increase the theatre's profit, the author must present more concrete and valid evidences.