A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Picking up a field of study is a very difficult decision young adults must make in order to choose an appropriate career. It is usual in some countries, tough, that teenagers choose some subjects depending on their personal preferences in High School, resulting in college freshman with diferent backgorunds. Moreover, it is also possible to find nations with diferent curriculum depending on it's regional particularities. No matter what the reasons are for having these differences in students; it is important to have a standard curriculum for them nationwide. First of all, the younger the decision of picking a field of study is made, the smaller the chances are that the best way is taken. This is true for one simple reason: teenagers have very little experience in their lives to help them making the correct choice regarding this issue. College students very often have doubts about whether their choice of university was good. If you bring that to high scool seniors, this problem will be more likely to happen. Secondly, allowing young students to pick their field of study will result in college students with no background in important areas for the all the citizens, and to the society.For example, theoretically, a doctor does not need to learn about arts, history or music to execute his job. Those knowledge are indiferent to his proffessional skills. However, it may be important for the community that it's members have a minimal level of artistic and humanistic education. Therefore, a commom basis is very important for every young adult to have a minimal knowledge in every important subject. To top it all, there are nations that adopt diferent curriculum justifying that as a way to respect the regional characteristics, emphasizing that the local culture must prevale in detriment of national issues. However, that makes it more difficult for the national educational department to make sure that proper education is being provided all over the country. It is very possible that some regions present weakness on some subjects, what will reflect on their students when they go to college, giving them disadvantages when competing with youngsters from other regions. Hence, in spite of the fact that thar are some benefits when students have diferent backgrounds, there is no doubt that the negative effects are more likely to take place. Standard curricullum nationwide is a necessity, specially for countries with poor educational resources.