An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The passage states that the government in Tagus should take actions in order to promote a new kind of millet that is high in vitamin A. It might seem logical to agree with the author's position that this would help to decrease the number of people in Tagus with deficiency in this vitamin, the presented reasoning is based on fragile assumptions and questionable arguments. More information is needed in order to understand the best way of responding to the vitamin a problem in Tagus.

First of all, it is important to analyze the author's unsound assumption that paying subsides to the farmers, in order to compensate for the high cost of the seed, will be enough to put the new product in the market with competitive prices. This issue request complex and precise panning, because it's very possible that the farmers receive this subsides, but do not use that to lower the seeds prices, counting that people will pay more for these seeds precisely because of it's benefits. Therefore, this action requires a lot of other solutions to the problems it might cause.

Moreover, the passage presents the dubious claim that, since people in Tagus already consume millet with frequency, they will readly adopt this new variety of the seed. But that depends a lot on one single key factor that is not presented in the statement: wether the new millet tastes differently or not than the original one. The taste is one of the most important factors people take into consideration when deciding what to eat. If people find the new seed to be tasteless, for example, they will not substitute the original one for the new millet. That would mine the entire reasoning presented on the passage.

To top it all, the author fails to mention which actions from the government should be taken in order to promote the improved millet. Like the afforementioned farming subsides issues, many problems could take place in this governamental actions. Whenever the government acts, public money is spent, and there is always the possibility of corruption, specially in the fields not usually affected by governamental actions. If the Tagus mayor is not considered thrustworthy by the city's people, they may not approve their money to be spent in other ways, unecessary to the basic public budget.

In other words, while it is not ilogical to expect that if the Tagus government takes actions that promote the vitamin A rich millet, the deficiency of this vitamin among people there will be likely to decrease, more information regarding this issue is necessary in order to convince more critic eyes. The author fails to present sufficient information that would persuade more skeptic readers.