The following appeared in the editorial in an industry newsletter:

"As public concern over drug abuse has increased, authorities have become more vigilant in their efforts to prevent illegal drugs from entering the country. Many drug traffickers have consequently switched from marijuana, which is bulky, or heroin, which has a market too small to justify the risk of severe punishment, to cocaine. Thus, enforcement efforts have ironically resulted in an observed increase in the illegal use of cocaine."

The argument, which is an excerpt from the editorial section of a newspaper, tells us about the current drug pedalling scenario in the country and how the authorities' efforts in eradicating this problem have actually backfired. The argument fails to provide vital statistics to allege that the authorities' efforts have actually led to an increase in the consumption of cocaine, and hence it is inappropriate to make such unwarranted assumptions.

The argument initially describes how the authorities have become more watchful owing solely to an increase in the concerns among the general public. However, there is no data to highlight the claim narcotic related crime rates in the country and no information to prove the increase in the usage of narcotics and illegal drugs over the years. It is true that a general sense of concern and fear arises in the common man, but numbers are essential in tackling problems like drug trafficking.

Secondly, it is highly inappropriate to claim that smugglers have moved from marijuana and heroin to cocaine simply owing to stringent actions from the authorities. It is also possible that the market for the abovementioned drugs have dropped due to an increase in awareness among the common public and maybe they have realised their adverse effects on health and dire consequences they might have to face if they are caught. Furthermore, again no numbers are provided to prove the increasing popularity of cocaine among its users and how the authorities' efforts have "ironically increased" the consumption of cocaine.

In the end, it is essential that proper evidences, statistics and data are provided in matters relating to crimes and before blaming any governmental authorities.