The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that limiting number of rental mopeds per day per rental company reduces accident in Balmer island. The author comes to this conclusion based on the observation of Seaville island. However, to fully evaluate the credibility of the argument the author must provide answer to these three questions.

Firstly, are the accidents due to the increase in number of mopeds? It may be possible that the accidents might be due to the bad conditions of rental mopeds with no proper braking system, slippery tires and bad handling condition of moped. Also, the accidents might be due to a greater number of pedestrians with narrow walking road. So, there are people walking in the moped way that might have increased the number of accidents. Path for walking needed to be widened instead of limiting number of moped to reduce accidents. If any of these scenarios have merit then the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Also, does limiting number of rentals per day per moped rental company decrease the number of mopeds? An owner of a rental company might start another rental company and deliver same number of mopeds per day to its customers. He does have the required number of mopeds to start a new company so it will be a no big deal to him. The island also might not have a policy about the number of companies to be owned by an individual and also the number of companies to be accepted in the island. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, do Seaville and Balmer island have same other conditions that allows them to be compared persuasively? Seaville island might have improved its road condition both for pedestrians as well as moped riders that might have reduced the number of accidents whereas, the roads of Balmer island are narrow, slippery, and full of sands from nearby sea. Also, weather condition of Balmer island may be bad compared to Seaville. Balmer island may often have foggy and rainy weather that increased the number of accidents. If any of these conditions are correct then the claim made by the argument cannot be valid.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the answer to these three questions (perhaps in a systematic study approach) then the viability of the recommendation can fully be evaluated.