The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this letter, the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette avers that the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s mopend rental companies in order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. He supplements his argument on the assumption that the reduced number of rented mopeds will result in the decrease of the number of the accidents, that the number of accidents are peaked during the summer season, and that the inherent characteristics between Seaville Island and Balmer Island with regard to moped transportation are exactly the same. The argument seems convincing at first; however, the unanswered questions lead readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the editor should first answer the question whether the reduced number of rented mopeds necessarily entails the reduced number of the accidents. This is because the reduced number of “rented mopeds” cannot be equated to the number of all the mopeds in the city; although former can be regulated though the legislation proposed in the letter, the latter cannot be easily diminished simply by restricting the number of rented mopeds. For example, it is plausible that the restricting the number of rented mopeds can backfire the increase of private mopeds, offsetting the reduced number of rented mopeds. Therefore, the editor should provide more information regarding the amount of rented mopeds and private mopeds.

Furthermore, more answers are needed on whether the accidents are peaked during the summer season. Although it is unspoken, the editor implies that the number of the accidents is more significant during the summer season, as he avers to limit the number of rented mopeds during the summer season. However, he should also consider that in all likelihood, the short-term increase of the population during the summer season mostly consist of peoples who are not familiar with the moped transportation. Therefore, it is likely that the number of the moped transportation, and concomittantly the number of the accidents, remains constant regardless of the season. To strengthen his argument, the editor should elaborate more on the season-dependence of the accidents.

Finally, the editor should supplement his argument with more concrete answer on whether the inherent conditions between Balmer Island and Seaville Island are the same. As evinced in the letter, he adamantly argues that 50 percent of the annual reduction should take place, which is the very same amount of the reduction in Seaville Island after the implementation of the policy. On the contrary to the editor’s ungrounded belief, however, it is entirely possible that the different inherent conditions between the two islands lead the different result with the same policy. For example, it is plausible that moped transportation in Seaville Island relies only on rented mopeds, while in Balmer Island the transportation also relies on private mopeds as well. Thus, the editor should give more information on the inherent characteristics of the two islands.

In brief, the editor’s argument is not persuasive on many grounds. In order to bolster the argument, the editor could provide more information on the ratio of rented mopeds to private mopeds, the season-dependence of the accidents, and the similarity of inherent characteristics between the two islands.